Facts about Navratri Festival

Around the globe, people have heard about Navratri festival, but most of the people are not aware with all the Navratri facts, rituals, Puja procedure and even history of it (why is it celebrated). Here we are enlightening on some points, which you need to know about Navratri. These Navratri facts can enhance your knowledge and help you in understanding more about Navratri and nine goddess etc.

Millions of people around the world celebrate Navratri festival, which is a nine days-nights festival, dedicated to goddess Shakti. Devotees worship nine forms of goddess Shakti to get the divine blessings of Maa Durga. During nine days and nine nights, goddess fought with demon Mahishasur and killed him on the tenth day. These nine sacred days represent the nine days of Navratri. During these nine sacred days, people perform worship, do fasting, kanyak puja and participate in jagrans.

Navratri Festival is celebrated in all the parts of the India, it is either North India or South India or East India. In other states of India, it is known by some other name. This is so huge festival that it is celebrated in other countries also, like in Singapore, Malaysia, US, Canada, Australia and UK etc. Every state of India shows some different cultures, activities and facts on Navratri.

9 Interesting Facts about Navratri Festival:

As there are nine auspicious days, nine sacred nights and nine divine goddess, we are enlightening information on nine interesting facts about Navratri. Below mentioned, amazing nine Navratri facts can familiarise you well with all the aspects of Navratri festival.

1 - Navratri festival is celebrated “Four Times” in a year, i.e. Sharad Navratri, Chaitra Navratri, Ashada Navratri and Magh Navratri.

2 - Navratri Dates have been set according to Hindu Lunar Calendar.

3 - The most popular Navratri is Sharad Navratri which is celebrated in the month of Ashwin (September or October). Sharad Navratri is also known as Maha Navratri.

4 - Nine incarnations of goddess Shakti are worshipped during Navratri. Nine goddess names are, Durga, Bhadrakali, Jagadamba, Annapurna, Sarvamangala, Bhairavi, Chandika, Lalita, Bhavani, and Mookambika.

5 - In Tamil Nadu, Navratri is known as “Golu”.

6 - In Sanskrit language, the meaning of Navratri is “Nav” means NINE and “Ratri” means NIGHT.

7 - Other than Goddess Durga, another legend of Navratri festival is Lord Rama who killed demon Ravana.

8 - Other festival linked with Navratri festival are Ram Navami and Dussehra. On the ninth day of Chaitra Navratri, Ram navami is celebrated while after the end of nine days of Sharad Navratri Vijayadashmi (Dussehra) is celebrated.

9 - During Navratri, in West Bengal, “Durga Puja” is a famous ritual, in Karnataka it is a Royal Festival while Mumbai and Gujarat are known for traditional dance forms of Dandiya and Garba.